Turkish Pop Music

6 Jan

My ‘every day’ starts off with getting to work, turning on ‘105 THE PEAK’ and slinking back into my chair with a cream-induced venti Earl Grey in hand while browsing through an overload of ‘important’ emails. My office is not necessarily a setting I would describe as soothing or desirable, but in the morning, it’s about as close as I’m ever going to get to it.

Around 8:45am, daily, my turkish office-mate shows up, walks by me reeking of cigarettes (and the cologne he tries to cover it up with) with a quick ‘hello’ before immediately sitting as his desk to grab the Listerine. A little put off by the stench, I get back into gear – slouch a bit – and start reading my emails again (okay I admit – sometimes some facebooking/twitter slips in). THE PEAK will be playing a great song, maybe by Phoenix or the Tragically Hip, and all of a sudden I’ll hear: ‘a la kindadooori, ma hi na la ha nana. ohkashingla noda da…’ and so on. What was that I just wrote? Not sure. But that’s all I hear of his Turkish pop music. He swears it’s a Russian song that his ex-girlfriend put on his cell phone as his ring tone, but I’m not convinced.

If it’s not the Turkish/Russian music (don’t get me wrong, I’m not hating on Russians or Turks, but when you hear the song play about 100 times a day – it would put anyone off edge) then I’m listening to 94.5 The Beat….a pop radio station. Never in my life have I known more lyrics to pop songs.

At first, I hated the idea of listening to The Beat, and basically listening to the same 10 songs repeat for the day – but then I made a game out of it..folks, please try this at home: Anytime ‘Empire State of Mind by Jay Z and Alicia keys comes on, you must immediately stop what you’re doing and break into an office dance party. All members included. This is not only a great way to forget about how annoying it is to listen to the same songs over and over again, but since the songs do play so often, you get your exercise in for the day.

Leave a Reply

